Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Arc Welding Conduit ?

Arc Welding Conduit ?

Hey guys I seen some of your stands and tree ladders you have made with conduit. Was wondering if EMT conduit can be welded with an SMAW/ stick welder?
    I had an older lincon arc welder given to me, never welded before but thought I would get some books and do lots of practice to learn. Any suggestions on info to learn from and what rods would you guys use for conduit, if I get there? Thanks.

"Never Kick a fresh turd on a hot day" Harry S. Truman

You could probably do it but it would be tough Conduit is pretty thin, I would use 6011 or 6013 rod keep your voltage/amperage low that stuff burns hot good luck

welding conduit

I believe there is a danger welding galvanized metal.Do more research to be safe! I am not an expert! I have done it make sure you have a fan to blow fumes away!hope this helps.

Brazing is much much easier. It fills better and won't burn through so fast and is plenty strong. All my stands are brazed with 1/8" flux coated rods.
    Rigginuts

"Take away a mans dreams and you will take away his soul" me

The fumes are brutal, and I needed to grind thru the galvinizing to get it to weld properly.

I would not even think of climbing on EMT!! You are asking for an accident. Besides the fact I don not think it can be welded??
    Exo Mountain Backpacks
    Darton Archery
    Lone Wolf
    Havalon Torch
    Kifaru

Under the galvinizing its nothing but steel so yes it can be welded. Make sure you remove the galvinizing first or you are asking for trouble. Doing it with a stick welder is gonna take some time to get down right but can be done.
    2010 Bear Assault, doinker multirod (custom 11 inch) HHA ds 5519
    SIXX STRINGS ADDING X's TO EVERYTHING WE DO!! www.sixxstrings.com
    Quote Originally Posted by fletched View Post
    It may be brown, but it ain't fudge they are trying to feed to us AT members.

Talking